Mighty Putty? Social Networking For Job Seekers

It’s been recommended in various web articles that job seekers hop on Twitter and other social networks to find contacts for potential employment opportunities. I know there’s MANY die hard twitter fans out there – so the question isn’t about “twittering” in general, but geared toward folks that have used social mediums for finding jobs.  Has doing this really WORKED for anyone? Do companies themselves really use twitter as a primary means to broadcast job opportunities?

I’ve not seen evidence that any routinely use it for hiring talent. Actually, the most useful company related “tweeting” I found was about Comcast complaints. Related:  Comcast, Twitter and Chicken.  I also found an article about Twitter for job seekers with a link to the Top 50 Recruiters currently on Twitter.

So I did what everyone suggested, hopped on twitter, visited the recruiter links to check out what kind of dialogue and exchange goes on.  And so far, there’s been a lot of chat about underwear, broken furnaces, Neil Diamond, fuzzy pink socks and something called Mighty Putty (video below).

What am I missing here?

8 Responses to “Mighty Putty? Social Networking For Job Seekers”


  1. 1 KellyCo January 29, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    Haha… Mighty Putty looks like the fix-all for everything. Billy Mays can sell anything through shouting. I agree, I have heard and read a lot about using Twitter for the job search but many are skeptical.

    I found this proof on Mack Collier’s blog: “Pay close attention to what others are doing. When Warren was laid off from his job, he went public with it, and tapped into his social networks for advice and help. Soon after, he was hired by Radian 6 as their Director of Content Marketing. Coincidence?”

    http://moblogsmoproblems.blogspot.com/2009/01/how-to-use-social-media-to-land-your.html

  2. 2 The Daily B*tch January 29, 2009 at 2:30 pm

    Kelly – Great link with great info for job seekers – thank you for including it. Plus, I LOVE your blog- you are smart and cool. And now also linked on my blog roll. 🙂

    As for Twitter – don’t know that I feel sold yet – but maybe I am catching it on an off day. Perhaps I need to start a bitches rule the world twitter. ???? Tee hee.

    BTW: I loved your SNUGGY post!

  3. 3 adrjobs January 29, 2009 at 4:12 pm

    I like your post! I am a recruiter on Twitter. 🙂 But Mighty Putty is a dud.

  4. 4 The Daily B*tch January 29, 2009 at 5:19 pm

    Hi there ADR – I would add your link except I don’t see one included. If you post one back I’ll definitely add it in. And since you are a recruiter— do you actually use TWITTER to scope talent? I’d really like to know. The above was actually what I found via the “recruiter” tweets – Mighty Putty and all! 🙂

  5. 5 Ram Venkatararam January 29, 2009 at 8:43 pm

    I think the message here is that job seekers need to understand and prepare for the job market of tomorrow by developing the skills they need today.

    It appears those skills include the ability to mold mighty putty into neil diamond figures, then cook them in a furance and adorn them with underwear and pink socks….

    So, in sum (and I’m charging for this), the job of the future is transvestite Neil Diamond Action Figure Maker.

    Jesus, do I have to do all of the thinking around here.

    10% off Might Putty in my store to any and all who reference this post

  6. 6 Laughing January 29, 2009 at 9:05 pm

    “So, in sum (and I’m charging for this), the job of the future is transvestite Neil Diamond Action Figure Maker….”

    And I would bet this is exactly true. Hilarious.

  7. 7 KellyCo January 29, 2009 at 10:55 pm

    Hahaa, I think that all this action figure needs is a miniature snuggie and then it will be complete for those cold winter nights to go with the pink underwear and socks.

    Thanks for the add to the blog roll – I appreciate the shout out.

    I am going to start following some of the “top 50 recruiters” on twitter and see what happens. I agree with Ram Venkatararam, it is all about being original and preparing for what may lay ahead by learning new skills and keeping up on the latest trends. If you show that by using twitter, then mad props to you for leveraging your knowledge base. But can it land you a job? That is the debate.


  1. 1 GOD Is On Twitter! And Other Discoveries For Twitter Newbies Like Me « The Daily Bitch Trackback on February 1, 2009 at 11:09 am

Leave a Reply

The Daily Bitch on Twitter

RSS http://twitter.com/bitchery

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

Bitch-Fest (Recent Comments)



Recipes for bitchy moms.


Featured: Armageddon Outta Here - Gooey Brownies by Evil Chef Mom.

RSS Unknown Feed

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

For the Literary Bitch

Reading materials!


Smart Bitches - Trashy Books



The Beltane Papers



B.I.T.C.H



Hide My Candy - The Autobiography of the Grand Empress of Savannah



Featured Funny Video
Meet EPIC Douchebag








  



